top of page



ICSH has two scholarship awards: the Carol Briggs-Smalley Scholarship and the Sam Machin Scholarship.


The Carol Briggs-Smalley Award is OPEN and accepting applications up to 31 March 2023.


ICSH is pleased to announce applications are open for the Carol Briggs-Smalley Scholarship.


The Carol Briggs-Smalley Scholarship Award was set-up in 2015 to honour the significant contributions Carol Briggs made to the discipline of laboratory haematology.


Each year ICSH seeks applications from Medical Technologists and Medical Laboratory Scientists on laboratory haematology projects particularly those that are related to standardization in laboratory haematology. Projects related to standardization in cellular analysis, haemostasis, flow cytometry, haemoglobinopathies and molecular haematology are all considered to be suitable for the award. Note applicants with a medical qualification or PhD are ineligible for this scholarship.


An amount of £10,000 GBP is allocated to the successful applicant for expenses related to the project. It is expected that as part of the award the project results and findings are published in a suitable peer reviewed laboratory haematology journal and are also presented at an appropriate international haematology meeting.


To submit your application for the Carol Briggs-Smalley Scholarship Award please use the below linking through to the applications portal.


The Carol Briggs-Smalley Award is open for applications up to 31st March 2023

Sam Machin Award 2022

Thank you to all those who applied in 2022.

Award Information available - here

previous Awards

ICSH made two scholarship awards available in 2021:


The Carol Briggs-Smalley Scholarship

The Sam Machin Scholarship (which was new for 2021)

Carol Briggs-Smalley Award 2021
2021 - Carol Briggs-Smalley Scholarship Header.png

Thank you to all those who applied in 2021.

Sam Machin Award 2021
2021 - Sam Machin Scholarship Header.png

Thank you to all those who applied in 2021.

bottom of page